Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation




Ajax Loading Image


Annual Report 2015-16

Dr. Ted DeTurk, Administrator

Inserted Image2015-16 Annual Report - Printer Friendly 

Inserted Image

50-year service banner


Nebraska Educational Service Unit 2 
2320 N. Colorado Avenue    PO Box 649
Fremont, NE 68026-0649
Phone 402-721-7710      www.esu2.org

Commitment to Quality Service
Developing effective partnerships
while providing leadership and learning for all

Collaboration; Education; Leadership; Communication


Educational Service Unit 2 provides educational services to sixteen school districts that are located in the counties of Burt, Cuming, Dodge, and Saunders.  Several ESU 2 member school districts extend into adjacent counties, as a result portions of Butler, Cass, Colfax, Douglas, Lancaster, Sarpy, Seward, Stanton, Thurston, Washington, and Wayne counties are included in the ESU 2 service area.



ESU 2 manages consortium and cooperative programs, such as Title I, Perkins, Special Education, and Distance Education for area schools that choose to participate.

New in 2015-16 is the Pathways 2 Tomorrow consortium, which focuses on career and technical education for ten participating schools.  This grant-funded consortium started with each school completing the reVISION process sponsored by the Department of Education.  Following this work, five career academies are planned for implementation over the next four years.  These academies include:  Computer Science, Health Science, Industrial Technology, Agriculture and Transportation. 


School districts contract with ESU 2 to provide cooperative special education services for students. Program rates are based on the projected budget needs.

As in prior years, an 8% fee is charged for administrative supervision of contracted ESU 2 personnel.  The special education department director and consultants provide assistance to all ESU 2 school districts for federally funded programs and for contracted administrative services.

This includes the ESU 2 Special Education Level III Advisory Program for students with behavioral issues.  The ESU 2 Independent School began serving students in August 2013.  

The total number of Special Education Staff Members includes:

2013-14 2014-15  2015-16
26.6 25.4 31.0


In recent years, Nebraska educational leaders have worked to improve teacher and principal effectiveness.  One key component of this improvement process is the development of an effective, growth-oriented evaluation model.  Additionally, other technology initiatives have been incorporated within the six tenets of AQuESTT (Accountability for a Quality Education System, Today and Tomorrow):

Blended Learning is an educational environment in which students have in part some element of control over time, place, path, and pace.  This requires some learning to take place through online delivery of content. Many elements of Blended Learning are  in place for our schools.  These include distance learning courses via the NE Virtual Instruction Source (NVIS), online management of these DL courses -regular courses, too- using a learning management system (LMS), desktop video conferencing technologies (VCT) and virtual field trips, and utilization of a learning object repository (LOR) that amasses separate resources in a way that students and staff may easily access all with a single username and password.

Moreover, a state project is underway to establish an assessment data warehouse - the Statewide Longitudinal Data System and ADVISOR Dashboard. This system collects student data and uses analysis tools to help generate standards based, individually appropriate lessons.


The dedicated liaison staff of ESU 2 focus time and energy to support the state initiatives outlined above at the local district level.  Technologically, we boast of a state of the art data center to support district data storage and data backup needs.  The support provided to member schools and the staff within is priority #1.  As our mission states, our commitment is to quality service.



The ESU 2 Board is comprised of eight representatives, whose term of office is four years, served without compensation.  The Board meets at 1 p.m. on the third Monday of the month at the ESU 2 office.

District         Name                           Title
1                    Dean Chase               Vice-President            
2                    Wayne Erickson          Member
3                    Harlan Schrieber        Secretary
4                    George Robertson     Member
5                    Ed Rastovski               Member
6                    Vern Gibson                President
7                    Rich McGill                  Member
8                    Louise Nabb               Member


ESU 2 is led by the
following department heads:

Name                           Department

Dr. Ted DeTurk           Administrator
Jody Phillips                Special Education
Corey Colvin               Technology
Diane Wolfe                Special Projects
Dr. Caryn Ziettlow       Professional Development



ESU’s operate under two budget constraints.  A levy limit of 1.5¢ per $100 of actual valuation guides revenue and an expenditure limit that states the current year’s funds (defined as property taxes and state core funds) cannot exceed the prior year’s budgeted restricted funds plus state determined growth.

The graph below represents the expenditures for each of five content areas: business operations, federal grant programs, school contracted services, special education and state core programs.


The graph below represents anticipated budgeted receipts from each four funding sources.  The amount contracted to districts is the greatest share and is based heavily on services to districts, specifically special education services.